(Mostly) Homemade Pizza

Okay, first post, here we go! In this blog, i’m going to try to get right to the point and get to the food. I don’t think there’s any blog that i’ve gone to for a recipe that i’ve actually read the whole post. I need to know what I need, how I need to do it, and get cooking. Maybe that’s how a  blog should be and I just don’t get it. Maybe I will become one of those long-winded bloggers, who knows. This is my first voyage into blogging (except for that one time I was a teenager and full of emotions so I decided to talk about it on the internet which was a terrible idea), so I understand there is much room for improvement.

Alright, now that that is out of the way, let’s make some pizza. Ingredients, assemble!!!

img_20170202_165825360

Amazing photo quality, right? I’m trying to get this blog going or I won’t ever do it, so i’m trying not to focus on the details. I took this with my phone, which is a potato. Anyways, I did leave off a few ingredients. I added provolone because it didn’t look cheesy enough, and I always finish the pizza off with some parmesan and a sprinkle of oregano. The pizza sauce I made following this recipe. I added some extra ingredients per some of the comments and let it simmer for about 30 minutes. This recipe makes enough sauce for two pizzas and freezes great, hence, the freezer bag of pizza sauce.

Next, preheat the oven and prep all of your ingredients. Grate your cheese, chop veggies of your choice, and roll out that dough. I grease my pan with olive oil, dust with cornmeal and just a tiny bit of garlic salt. A tip I learned, you don’t need nearly as much sauce on your pizza as you think you do (or I thought I did, at least). It should look something like this, unless you just prefer more sauce.

img_20170202_171627203

Add your toppings. Luckily, our little dude loves veggies so we don’t have to make any modifications to our pizza. Husband gets mushrooms, I get green olives, and the little gets a little of each with fresh mushrooms on the side too, which he sometimes prefers to his pizza. I can’t believe it either, but i’m going to roll with it for as long as I can!

img_20170202_172434258

Now pop that baby in the oven! The crust I use, which I get in the frozen section at H-E-B, cooks at 450 for 14 minutes in our oven. But you know your oven better  than I do, so set your timer for the shortest time and adjust as necessary. Fourteen minutes later, voila! img_20170202_174051889

Ok, so here is where I would have a nice printable recipe. But the little is done with breakfast, I am out of time, and it is pizza. I’ll figure it out soon (hopefully) and edit the post to add it because reasons. Thanks for reading! Let’s all hope I get a little better at this.

(Mostly) Homemade Pizza

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Time: 30 minutes
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • Prepared pizza crust dough
  • 8 to 10 oz mozzarella cheese, shredded
  • 1 tablespoon Parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 teaspoon oregano
  • 1 teaspoon cornmeal
  • pinch of garlic salt
  • Pizza sauce  or store bought, about 1/3 cup
  • Toppings of your choice

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven according to pizza dough package directions. Oil pan lightly with olive oil, sprinkle with cornmeal and garlic salt.
  2. Assemble pizza: Sauce, cheese, toppings, and finish off with Parmesan and oregano.
  3. Cook pizza according to package directions.
  4. Let sit for 5 minutes, cut, and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

