5-Minute Prep Chicken and Rice

This is one of the easiest recipes I have in my arsenal. I started making it regularly after my son was born, when I was just too exhausted to really cook. Once he started eating table foods, this was still one of my go-to’s because the chicken comes out super tender and is easy for little ones to eat. I understand that nowadays processed foods is not ideal (looking at you, canned soups), but sometimes you need an easy throw-together meal, and, personally, I believe in everything in moderation. I’m pregnant with twins and chasing a toddler all day, I think I can throw in some canned soup every now and then, and besides, it is homemade, so you can’t side-eye me too much.

Alright, let’s go. Ingredients, assemble!!!

022

Yes, that’s really it. Chicken, Minute Rice, two “cream of” soups and onion soup mix. I told you it was easy. Oh, and did I mention cheap? Depending on how many chicken breasts you need, this meal should cost you less than $10.00.

The first step is optional, but I definitely recommend it. Flatten that chicken! It doesn’t need to be super thin, but I flatten it a bit to get the same thickness in all of the pieces, so everything cooks the same. I started doing it with just about every chicken dish I make, and it makes a difference. Besides cooking more evenly, there’s a better distribution of whatever seasonings you’re using, so every bite is tasty.

Set your chicken aside for a minute, and prep your baking dish with nonstick spray. In a medium sized bowl (or even in the baking dish to keep cleanup minimal), mix together 2 cups of Minute Rice, two “cream of” soups of your choice, and one can of water. Now, I used cream of mushroom and cream of celery, because I really don’t like cream of chicken. You can use whatever you like!

027

Next, sprinkle some pepper over the rice mixture, and lay your chicken breasts on top. I only used three, but you can use up to six. The onion soup mix is super salty, so use it sparingly, especially if you’re using less than six chicken breasts. I used maybe half of a packet for three, and I scrape most of it off of little man’s chicken because it is just riddled with salt.

030

Cover tightly with foil and cook at 325 for 1-1/2 to 2 hours. Serve with a veggie or salad on the side and you’re done!

039

5-Minute Prep Chicken and Rice

  • Time: 1 hour 35 minutes
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 3-6 boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • 2 cups of Minute Rice
  • 1 can of cream of mushroom soup
  • 1 can of cream of celery soup
  • onion soup mix

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees.
  2. Flatten chicken breasts slightly until they are uniform in thickness.
  3. Grease a 9×13 baking dish.
  4. In a medium sized bowl (or in the baking dish) add Minute Rice, soups, plus one can of water, and mix well.
  5. Pour soup mixture into baking dish and sprinkle with pepper.
  6. Place chicken breasts on top of soup mixture, and sprinkle onion soup mix on top of chicken breasts.
  7. Cover tightly with foil and cook for 1-1/2 to 2 hours.

Note: Use half the packet of onion soup mix for 3 chicken breasts, adjusting to the whole packet for 6.

Leave a Reply

