Easy Cheesy Hash Browns

I was never big on breakfast until I was pregnant with my first. I went from not eating anything for a couple hours to literally sobbing if I didn’t have breakfast as soon as I rolled out of bed. Then, I needed to eat breakfast while he ate his otherwise I wouldn’t have the chance. Now, it’s a habit and we enjoy breakfast together every morning.

Hash browns are little man’s new favorite. He asks for them by name. Don’t get me wrong, I love hash browns, but they can be kind of “meh” after a while. Now that I amp them up with a couple of extra ingredients, I can’t go back!

Ingredients, assemble!!!

044

Get your hash browns (I use frozen, you could also use refrigerated or make your own), cheddar cheese (we get medium), dried thyme, salt and pepper. Not pictured is vegetable or canola oil that you’ll need to fry it all up.

046

First, get your skillet heating up over medium high heat and add 1-2 tablespoons of oil. Next, add all the ingredients to a medium-sized bowl and mix well, I just use my (clean) hands. Before you add the hash brown mixture to the pan, be sure that the pan is hot enough, otherwise the potatoes will soak up most of the oil and get soggy, nobody wants that.

050

Then, cook the hash browns according to package directions. On my oven, I cook for six minutes, flip, then cook for another three. If you need to, add some extra oil after you flip if the pan looks dry.

052

That’s it! Super easy, crispy on the outside, fluffy on the inside hash browns that are packed with flavor. Enjoy!

Easy Cheesy Hash Browns

  • Servings: 2-4
  • Time: 15 minutes
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 2-1/2 cups frozen hash browns
  • 1/2 cup cheddar cheese
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper

Directions:

  1. Heat 1-2 tablespoons of oil in a skillet over medium high heat.
  2. Mix hash browns, cheese and seasonings in a bowl.
  3. Spread hash brown mixture in an even layer in the pan and cook according to your package directions. For reference, I cook mine for 6 minutes, flip, and cook for an additional three minutes.

Leave a Reply

