5-Minute Tartar Sauce

Happy National Tartar Sauce Day! Yes, its a thing. I checked.

It was a pretty uneventful chain of events that led to me starting to make my own tartar sauce. I made some baked breaded fish for dinner and realized it was missing something. Tartar sauce! But sadly, I didn’t have any. After a quick google search, I discovered I could make my own, and I had all the ingredients on hand! Thus, homemade tartar sauce has become a thing at our house. It takes just a few minutes to whip up and I definitely prefer it to store bought.

Ingredients, assemble!!!

052

A couple notes: 1. Use dill relish if you prefer more sour instead of sweet. 2. Bottled lemon juice works just fine. I prefer to use fresh, so I always have a few lemons on hand.

054

Finely chop your onion, squeeze that lemon, mix everything up in a small bowl, and you’re done! If you can, make this ahead of time. It does taste better after sitting in the fridge for at least an hour. But if you’re in a bind and need it right away, go for it. I’ve done it, I won’t judge.

059

5-Minute Tartar Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cup mayonnaise
  • 3 teaspoons onion, minced
  • 3 teaspoons sweet relish
  • 1-1/2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper

Directions:

  1. Add all ingredients to a small bowl, mix well.
  2. Chill for one hour, and serve.

 

 

Leave a Reply

